My mom has pneumonia! But we’re going to Miami after all!

Posted on May 10, 2008. Filed under: Eli & me, Mom & me |

By Joy A. Kennelly

Went to Rolling Hills to watch the inspirational surf film, but got so turned around trying to find it I was really late arriving and it was “maxed out” according to the door guy. I was pretty bummed because I was really looking forward to seeing it, but turns out I was meant to help my mom instead.

She called to tell me she was at the emergency room because she’d had a pain in her ribs that her nurse friend thought needed checking out. I ended up sitting with her for an hour while she had x-rays, an EKG, and check-up.

She and I always have a good time together regardless of where we are and tonight was no exception. I always try to make her laugh to take her mind off the seriousness of her situation and kept teasing her which cracked us both up.

We began to feel guilty because we were in emergency and people were in a lot of pain. The other funny thing we do is that one of us will tell the other a poignant story and then we’ll both get choked up and teary eyed together.

Mom told me that last Sunday her Sunday School teacher was discussing how to talk to people who have either lost a loved one, or are dying. Apparently there’s quite a few people in her class that have become widowed, or are dying which is sad. That made both of us sad and we just sat there crying together until we started laughing because we were making each other sad.

You probably had to be there.

The doctor came and checked her out. He thought she was good, but when he checked her x-ray – boom. It was pneumonia! I’m so glad she went to the hospital because I thought her cough and sickness sounded more serious than her other doctor she’d visited earlier in the week let on.

She got a shot to the bum and then we left. Apparently she’s still good to travel and I was able to change my flight so… Miami here we come!

Now I’m excited. I’ve set up some fun times with my GoChi friend Mauricio and told him I want to meet all his single friends. Should be fun. Mom and I will hang during the day and then I’ll go out at night with everyone else.

It’s about time! I’m dying living here in HB. I just don’t have going out friends down here and it’s getting a little old. The good thing about having mom along is that I won’t be tempted to bring a guy home!:) I’m being a good girl, but sometimes even good girls slip.

That’s why I have a son. Whoops! But he was a happy accident if I can say that. He makes me happy and I hope I make him happy too. Next trip is to visit him hopefully.

We shall see! I’m going to hustle while I’m in Miami because it’s time to kick some booty biz-wise. Okay, that’s all for now!

Have a good one.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Emotions I feel surrounding my adoption, books I read and other experiences in life

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

