American Idol Gives Back, Beach Cities Relay for Life American Cancer Society benefit

Posted on April 10, 2008. Filed under: Local news |

By Joy A. Kennelly

I’m watching American Idol Gives Back and it’s really cool to see how everyone has pulled together. Jimmy Kimmel is hitting Simon so hard it’s great. Totally cracks me up. Jimmy is saying about Simon what we’re all thinking!

There are so many children in the world who need care and concern. What’s interesting is that when you’re working a fundraiser event it’s easy to miss the heart of it when you have to deal with all the personalities and egos involved around it.

It’s easy to lose sight of the real purpose, especially when you’re dealing with only the business side of it. However, that said, business still plays a part and when people forget that that’s when trouble arises. I don’t do publicity for fun, it’s the way I make my income.

As a result, I don’t do things for free unless I choose to donate my time like I recently did for the American Cancer Society event I produced as part of my South Bay Professional Connection in Hermosa Beach, CA. I coordinated all the talent, negotiated a deal with the venue, produced the entire event, all while publicizing it pro bono.

Hours and hours and hours of work for which I wasn’t paid, but did it because I wanted to draw my community together and raise awareness of this amazing charity.

Here’s some fun pix for your viewing pleasure:

Jayme Mackinga performs at the Ardmore in 705 for the American Cancer Society benefit

Jill Morales manns the Relay for Life American Cancer Society table

That’s why when people accuse me of being self-centered because I’m not doing what they want me to do, I just have to let it roll off my back. Yes, the people who have been attacking me for the past few days are still at it. When will they ever stop? That’s what I want to know.

I’m hoping soon. I’m so glad I’m going away tomorrow. I need to leave them behind and come back to a new perspective that hopefully, doesn’t have them in it!:)

Okay, that’s all. Now I want to watch Alicia Keyes while she’s in Africa since I lived there when I was in the 7th grade.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Emotions I feel surrounding my adoption, books I read and other experiences in life

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

