Rose Vista, the maternity home I used to live in…

Posted on January 17, 2008. Filed under: Why I write | Tags: , , , , |

By Joy A. Kennelly

It was sad to me to hear that this maternity home closed because I had some good memories there. Here’s one of the press releases I had sent out on behalf of one of their fund-raisers back in the good ole days…

CONTACT: Jane Bright, Executive Director

ROSE VISTA MATERNITY HOME

310 915-1179

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ROSE VISTA, ONLY LOS ANGELES MATERNITY HOME FOR WOMEN CONSIDERING ADOPTION, ANNOUNCES AUTUMN FUND RAISER

ACTRESS KAREN BLACK SCHEDULED TO SPEAK

LOS ANGELES, CA, October 18, 2001 – Rose Vista Maternity Home to host Autumn Fund-raiser on Friday, October 26, 2001 from 6:00pm to 11:00pm at the Embassy Suites Hotel in El Segundo, CA. Actress Karen Black among those scheduled to speak. Evening includes reception, silent & live auction, dinner and entertainment. Auction items include Shaquille O’Neal’s autographed jersey, Harley Davidson jacket and other items, a year’s membership to Westchester YMCA, Pioneer DVD player, hotel and restaurant gift certificates, and many more gift ideas.

Invited guests include Senator Debra Bowen, Congresswoman Jane Harmon, and Councilwoman Ruth Galanter. All hospital prenatal and maternity staff, health clinic staff, adoption agency staff, adoption attorneys, psychotherapists, and those interested in the services of Rose Vista and adoption are invited.

Rose Vista provides emergency housing for women in crisis pregnancies, (18 years of age and older unless emancipated), who are considering adoption. Women who have children (up to six years of age) are also welcome. Rose Vista’s caring staff are Bi-lingual and free individual counseling is available. Rent is on a sliding scale and residents have their own private room or suite with a sink, closet and furniture with shared bathrooms.

Rose Vista is a non-profit organization solely supported by private donations and serves women in crisis pregnancies regardless of race, religion, and financial or marital status. For more information, visit www.rosevista.org , info@rosevista.org or call (310) 915-1179.

END

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Rose Vista, the maternity home I used to live in…”

RSS Feed for The Pregnant Pause Comments RSS Feed

I believe I was born at Rose Maternity Hospital J
June 20, 1946. I am trying to verify this information and
and learn as much as I can about the facility. I have
I have found my birth family and we are trying
to piece together what really happened. I would
appreciate any information available.

Hi Beverly, As I mentioned in my email to you, unfortunately, Rose Vista Maternity Home is not a hospital and I really don’t have any information to help you in your search.

I wish you much success, but can’t help you. Sorry.
JOY

Hi Joy,
I lived down the hall from you for 2 months. I lived at Rose Vista as well from March-May 2000. It’s been years but I can’t help but think of that place from time to time & the friends I made there. Have you kept in contact with anyone else there? I’m trying to find Nidia & Reba.
I have to go now, take care & god bless!

Hi Pam, I have a really bad memory and don’t remember what you look like or our living together. I’m sorry.

I’ve also lost touch with Nidia and Reba. I’m sorry I’m not more helpful! I hope you do connect with them, but…

Thanks for writing! Good to hear from you!
JOY


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Emotions I feel surrounding my adoption, books I read and other experiences in life

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

