Mother’s Day thoughts…

Posted on January 6, 2008. Filed under: Adoption emotions |

By Joy A. Kennelly

Mother’s Day can be a difficult day for me when I don’t make plans. Here’s my thoughts from May 11, 2006 and my other blog:

Had lunch with my dad who gave me a box of Sees candy for Mother’s Day —something he’s never, ever done in my entire life of being a birthmother. He’s not much into gift giving at all, but I think he knew I love chocolate so it was an easy choice!

Last year was a real tough Mother’s Day for me because I didn’t plan to do anything like I should have. The emotions of loss just came over me like a tidal wave. I spent most of the day crying my eyes out for my son. However, this year I know better and will try to make sure I’m around people and spending quality time with them.

Adoption never really ends with the placement. This will affect me for the rest of my life I think, but I accept that it’s part of my lot in life.

Finally mailed off my son’s present. We’re notorious in our family for giving gifts late. We’ve often celebrated Christmas days later just to accomodate everyone’s schedules. Plus, then you get better discounts on everything. LOL. I had thought my mother had mailed it, but when I was visiting my dad today noticed it was still sitting there waiting to be mailed. (She had said she’d mail it so it’s not my fault it’s late!:)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Emotions I feel surrounding my adoption, books I read and other experiences in life

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

