The Pregnant Pause – what was it? Why now?

Posted on January 6, 2008. Filed under: Why I write |

By Joy A. Kennelly

I like the idea that grass reflects renewal, fresh growth, and a metaphor for new ideas pushing through people’s misconceptions of who and what a birthmother is. That’s why I’ve started this blog.

I am a birthmother. I have a nine-year old son who doesn’t live with me, but with the adoptive couple I placed him with at birth. Placed is the correct term (at least it was when I did it) vs. “gave away” because it indicates thought, decision-making, and choice.

All of which I experienced. I had nine months to find the right family to raise my son and I took advantage of every single day. I researched adoption, went to counseling, spoke to another birthmother in an open adoption, read every book I could get my hands on, surfed the internet searching for a couple I liked and prayed often and hard.

The story of my finding this adoptive couple for my son is really rather miraculous. I’ll share it with you another time though. I’ve been working on this new web site for the past few hours and I need a break. I need to figure out how to change the titles of my link. Anyone have some advice to offer?

Thanks for popping by! Really appreciate it!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Emotions I feel surrounding my adoption, books I read and other experiences in life

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

