Birthmothers sometimes get a bad rap

Posted on January 6, 2008. Filed under: Why I write |

By Joy A. Kennelly

This is an excerpt from a much longer blog, but expresses the reasons why I feel it’s important to share my open adoption story. Not every birthmother is a drug addict, or whatever…

I wrote this August 5, 2007 after reading an adoption story in the LA Times. Not my truth, but the reporter is someone I respect and have talked to so… Here’s my thoughts on her take…

What I do know is that I’m finally meeting with my editor to work on creating a 5 minute promo for a documentary on my open adoption. My son is 8 years old now. I feel it’s time to share that side of my life and release my thoughts into the world on that topic now.

What’s so ironic is that I spoke to an LA Times reporter a year ago about my experience and today she sends me a link to the story she’s actually written. Click here for the first installation. I guess the second one is tomorrow.

It saddens me that a birth mother with obvious problems is once again being highlighted as the example of what comprises an open adoption. It only makes me more determined to share my story because my relationship with my son and the adoptive parents is good.

Not all birth mothers are like the one portrayed in this article. Yes, it makes for a great story, but is this always going to be the only story ever told about open adoption? I hope not. Maybe you’ll see my doc, or read my book once it’s done. I hope so.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Emotions I feel surrounding my adoption, books I read and other experiences in life

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

